Sunday, January 23, 2011

Unique call on shootout goal by Alex Tanguay

NHL referees will not call a goal unless the see the puck actually cross the goal line. As far back as I can remember even if it was obvious that a goalie has carried the puck into the net it has not counted if the puck wasn't visible. That was until last night.

In the shootout goal below, Alex Tanguay takes a backhand shot at Roberto Loungo who stops it with his pads. The puck drops into he goalie pad and disappears but Luongo's legs and pads totally cross the goal line. The referees do not rule it a goal but the War Room at the NHL offices reverse the referees and award to goal to Calgary.

No comments:

Post a Comment