Wednesday, June 9, 2010

The Curse of Frank Mahovlich continues

The Chicago Blackhawks win their 4th Stanley Cup tonight which ends a 49 year championship drought for the Blackhawks. Back in 1960-61 Chicago was anchored by a 21 year old Bobby Hull as well as Stan Makita, Pierre Pilote, Kenny Wharram, Murray Balfour, Bill Hay and Glen Hall.

With the Chicago victor, that leaves the Toronto Maple Leafs with the longest running Stanley Cup drought - 43 long years. Though since Los Angeles and St. Louis have never won the Cup since joining the NHL 43 years ago, they share drought title with the Leafs.  For Buffalo and Vancouver, it is 40 years.

The Curse of Frank Mahovlich lives on!

No comments:

Post a Comment